Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox, P.L.L.C.

Founded in 1978 and based in Washington, D.C., Sterne Kessler is dedicated exclusively to the protection, transfer, and enforcement of intellectual property rights. The firm's team of attorneys, registered patent agents, students, and technical specialists include some of the country's most respected practitioners of intellectual property law. Most of Sterne Kessler's professionals hold an advanced level degree, including more than 50 Ph.D.s in science or engineering and well over 100 advanced technical degrees – credentials wide and deep enough to fill the faculty of a science oriented university.

Sterne Kessler is a leader at the USPTO Patent Trial and Appeal Board (PTAB), having represented clients in more than 600 America Invents Act (AIA) proceedings. Specifically, as of February 2017, the firm has represented clients in 550 inter partes reviews (IPRs), 50 covered business method reviews (CBMs), seven post grant reviews (PGRs), and three derivation proceedings (DERs).

Patent Office Litigation Editorial Team (in alphabetical order):

Jason D. Eisenberg and Robert Greene Sterne

Chapter Draft Coordinator:

Mary Porras

Chapter Chiefs (in alphabetical order):

Paul A. Ainsworth, Donald R. Banowit, Salvador M. Bezos, Christian A. Camarce, Richard D. Coller III, David K.S. Cornwell, Nirav N. Desai, Tracy-Gene G. Durkin, Eldora L. Ellison, Ph.D., Donald J. Featherstone, Ross G. Hicks, Ph.D., Michelle K. Holoubek, Peter A. Jackman, Michael Q. Lee, Gaby L. Longsworth, Ph.D., Michael V. Messinger, Joseph E. Mutschelknaus, Monica Riva Talley, Mark W. Rygiel, Lauren Schleh, Timothy J. Shea, Jr., Deborah Sterling, Ph.D., Jonathan Tuminaro, Ph.D., Jon E. Wright, and Daniel E. Yonan

Co-Authors (in alphabetical order):

Richard M. Bemben, Jay L. Bird, Daniel Block, Lori M. Brandes, Ph.D., James T. Buchanan, Paul A. Calvo, Ph.D., Dohm Chankong, Sam Cockriel, Kyle E. Conklin, Mark Consilvio, John H. Curry, Tyler J. Dutton, Jason A. Fitzsimmons, Christopher M. Gallo, Ph.D., Diane Ghrist, Aisha Haley, Zhu He, David H. Holman, Ph.D., Todd M. Hopfinger, Sana Hussain, Lauren Johnson, Lestin Kenton, Stephen A. Merrill, Venkat Mummalaneni, Stephanie M. Nguyen, Tina M.P. Nguyen, Pauline M. Pelletier, Graham C. Phero, Byron L. Pickard, Jared Radkiewicz, Daniel J. Ritterbeck, Janet M. Smith, Ian Soule, Jonathan Strang, Krishan Y. Thakker, Dennies Varughese, Pharm.D., and Charlie Wysocki.

Special Thanks to Our Proof/Cite Checking Team::

Sahar A. Ahmed, Casey Berger, Bill Flanigen, Gabrielle Griffith, Brett McCone, John Murray, Patrick T. Murray, Novak Obsencia, Nicholas Rachmaninoff, Wilson Smith, and Rachel Wertheim. (February 2017)

Titles by This Author